Review: The Whistler By John Grisham.

(Disclaimer: This book was sent to me, at my own request, by Kerry Hood, over at Hodder and Stroughton. What follows is my honest opinion. I am very grateful to her. )

IMG_20160824_111808

I do love a thriller, really I do. I’m not familiar, apart from this book, but I was pleasantly surprised. A book about corrupt judges? All hands on deck!

Two investigators are contacted by a whistle-blower, (hence the title), about corruption on a huge level by one judge. He’s on the run, in fear for his life; what happens next? Everything spirals out of control; there’s ambushes, murders, firings, cover-ups, and more. That’s how I came to read it in two days-eyes stuck to the page, wanting to read as quickly as possible.

It reminds me very much of The Girl On The Train ; an edgy read that grabs the attention of the reader at the very first word. In fact, I think this may be my new favorite book this year. It’s out today; if you know a crime thriller fan, or just want to escape the world for a while, I highly advise you reading this.

My only real problem with the book is that there’s a sub-plot between two authoritative figures in the book. It had the potential to wreck the investigation-and as a reader, I really dislike unfinished business in a plot. I would have really disliked that!

Click here to buy.

Leave a Reply

