Autumn Reads, By Freya Creech, From Freya’s Nook. 

*This guest post is part of an ongoing series, completely unique to this week.*

Hello everyone!

I’m Freya, a musician and blogger, and I write about my life, thoughts and ideas at freyasnook.blogspot.com. I am so excited to be collaborating with the lovely Lydia, here on her blog, and hope you enjoy this guest post!

As the summer is finally drawing to a close, and I am beginning to settle back into the old work routine, I have realised that I am also nearing the end of my summer ‘to-read’ list. This has led me to think a lot about what I would like to read over the next few weeks and months, and a LOT of online book browsing! I love this time of year, the feeling of a new start that September brings, as well as the cosy nights in reading by the fire – this is always a wonderful inspiration for choosing some good new books.

I have put together a list of books on my new ‘autumn to-read’ list, and thought I would share them with you in this post. Some of these are books that I haven’t yet read but thought looked really interesting, some of them I have read but feel like they are really good reads for this time of year, and others I just wanted to recommend to you myself. I hope that if you are also looking for something to read this autumn, you might find some ideas and inspiration here!

 Books I haven’t yet read, but will be reading

1. ‘Everything is Illuminated’, by Jonathan Safran Foer

I don’t know much about this book, except that it is a story looking back on the horrors of World War 2. I expect it to be quite gripping, and from its outstanding reviews, I understand that it is an important novel of its genre.  

2. ‘The Little Book of Hygge: The Danish Way to Live Well’, by Meik Wiking

This book seems to be very on trend at the moment, I have seen bloggers writing about it everywhere – so of course I have to jump on this train! It is about a Danish philosophy called Hygge, which promotes certain ideas about how to live in the best way you can. With the new work year, I think this will be a nice read!

3. ‘After The Wall: Confessions from an East German Childhood and the Life That Came Next’, by Jana Hense

Since living in Germany, I have become extremely interested in German history, and particularly fascinated by the personal stories surrounding the time of the Berlin Wall. I saw this book and thought it looked really interesting.

 Books that are perfect for autumn

1. ‘Harry Potter’, by J.K. Rowling

Always a classic! For me this series never gets old, and you could read any or all of them this autumn, including the newest one that just came out this summer!

2. ‘Rebecca’, by Daphne du Maurier

A gripping and haunting novel, it definitely has an autumnal and spooky feel to it! I got completely drawn into this book, and I think it suits this time of year really well.

3. ‘The Shining’, by Stephen King

If you liked the movie, definitely consider reading the book. Especially if you love a thrill, it would be perfect for Halloween!

4. ‘Frankenstein’, by Mary Shelley

Another Halloween choice! I actually really enjoyed reading this book, as it was so different to what I thought the story of Frankenstein was! It is a classic.

 Books I recommend

1. ‘Jane Eyre’, by Charlotte Bronte

A classic and wonderfully written novel, full of surprises and beautiful subtleties. This is definitely a book that you can get really drawn into, perfect for rainy days. I would also really recommend listening to the audio book.

2. ‘Dead Poets Society’, by N.H. Kleinbaum

You might have seen the fantastic movie with the great Robin Williams, but I would definitely recommend reading the book, which, as is typical for book-film adaptations, contains so much more.

 There is my ‘to-read’ list for this autumn. I really hope you enjoyed reading this post, and thank you again to Lydia for allowing me this space on her blog! If you would like to see more of what I write about, please do check out my blog too, freyasnook.blogspot.com.

Leave a Reply

