Q&A Post: The Girl Gang Edition.

One of my most dominant traits is nosiness; just wanting to know limitless information, about world events, people, etc. (Believe me-it can be a bit of a hinderance at times.) Elsewhere in the blogging universe, there has been some Q&A posts; I just had to turn the tables on myself, and write my own version. Twitter was not responsive to my tweet for questions, so I asked The Girl Gang Facebook Group. So, without much further ado, here are their questions, with my answers:
Nikki, from twentysomethingmuddle.com:

-what are your tips for getting organised and planning for a new year?
For organisation, everything I need is kept to hand in my Filofax; it includes a diary, pullouts for keeping other things, note paper, etc. Colour coding helps as well-so, if there’s a deadline I have, it will now be ringed in yellow. Blog posts are in blue, birthdays in pink. To plan for the new year, I’ve set up my planner again, but have written a list of goals to achieve, and have added post-its with reminders to the beginning of each month. Hope this helps!


-who are your top five authors, and why do you like their writing?
Good question for a Bibliophile: I love Jodi Picoult-for her ability to be sensitive in tackling big issues; Rowan Coleman-because she writes with so much emotion; Carl Anthony-teaching me American history in a way I can understand; Matt Haig-for his Mental health coverage; and Carly Simon-for language weaved in such a way it captivates. Maybe E.L.James should be added? Ha, ha! 

-what are your blogging goals for 2017, and where do you see your blog this time next year?
I would love to interview Derren Brown or Brian May; this sort of answers both, hopefully.

Dawn Getliffe (I couldn’t locate a URL!)

-What made you decide to blog every day for a year, and what do you hope to get out of it?

I saw Natalie at Youralmostalice doing it; simply put, I envied her! I hope to get a better discipline out of it-in terms of a deadline-to write ahead, and create a better platform, as well as blog. Flatlines in views are never good!


Tajinder, from musicgeekonline.com 
-what books are you looking forward to reading in 2017?
I wish to read Rowan Coleman’s new novel, and there also may be a new, fuller edition of the letters of Sylvia Plath. 

-what concerts or performers are you looking forward to seeing live in 2017?
Anastacia-such a great Christmas present! But, I would love to see Lissie again-hopefully with new music-as well as Alfie Boe and Michael Ball. Quite an odd mix of musical taste, but still, it’s what I love be and enjoy.

-what’s the best advice you’ve been given during your blogging journey?
There’s two, if that’s allowed? Lesley Ann Jones, the epic Rock Journalist, told me to keep writing-no matter if you don’t have an audience, this is what makes you a writer. I also came to my own realisation-you do t ask, you don’t get. A lot of the interviews I’ve conducted would have never happened-like with Anastacia-or even just going to a gig. Hope this helps!

Angi Miriam Burrows: (I couldn’t locate a URL.)

-If you could be a Disney Princess, who would you be and why?
Belle, because we match each other in terms of interests in books-or Mulan, because she has the best soundtrack, and lives in a far more colourful world.

-if there was a movie of your life, who would you want to play you?
I would choose Carey Mulligan. 


Cole Nemeth: (I couldn’t locate a URL.)

-what inspired you to start blogging?

I was maybe eleven, possibly twelve, on seeing an Article in Shout magazine. Essentially, it told the reader how to create a blog-from servers such as WordPress and blogger, and then deciding on design, etc. It also featured Cat from Life Through A Cats Eyes. But I never imagined that I would get to interview people, go to concerts, or reviewing books-that was not part of the plan. Who knew?!

-what inspires your blog posts now?

My brain, other bloggers, responses to events, people, and nosiness. 

-what are you studying in school?
English, politics, and history.

-what is your morning routine?
Erm..get up, clothes on, breakfast, teeth, and out the door!?

-how old were you when you decided you wanted to be a writer and why?
I was maybe seven or eight, and had just gotten my first pair of glass. I could now see words on the page, and was able to read in a more fluent manner than previously. Similarly, I have also never been good at maths-numbers and me don’t mix. Writing was the only thing I was good at-and the ego gratification at getting a byline is immense (!!)

-what are your writing goals for 2017 and the next five years?

For 2017, I wish to finish my book. And for the next five years, I wish to see it published, and for people to read it. Oh, and to expand this blog, include more bloggers, work for a national newspaper, interview Brian May and Derren Brown, and to go to as many concert as possible. Ambitious? Not harm done! 

Thanks to everyone that submitted questions-
Lydia

XO

2 thoughts on “Q&A Post: The Girl Gang Edition.

Leave a Reply

