Goals fo 2017.. because I don’t do New Years Resolutions.

Previously, whenever I’ve attempted to stick to New Years Resolutions, they haven’t really stuck-whatever bad habit it is that I’m trying to kick, such as not biting my nails, can relapse. From then on, it just seems almost pointless to me-because you haven’t kept to it. Plus I also felt a bit of a failure. So, for about the last two years running, I’ve made a list of goals to try and achieve for the coming year. And, this is what I hope to aim for this year:


Find a fee paying job in Journalism..

I think it always shocks people to find out that, despite how much I write-this blog, in addition to a monthly column, and regular other contributions-I do not get paid. Now, this is good for experience, but I’ve been doing this for a long time now. And I can’t keep working for free-I would like to support myself by writing. 

Try to finish Questions Of Truth…

Since January 2015, the idea for a novel has been kicking round inside my head. It concerns Autism, Spies, Betrayl, etc. But I just have not been able to finish it! By the end of this year, I would love to have finished the manuscript-but finding an agent seems far too ambitious as yet. Let’s just try to finish the story first!

Qualify in shorthand…

I’ve been studying Shorthand since last April. And my learning progress has been, quite frankly, shocking. I want to qualify in this diploma, quite badly.

Learn to cook five + meals…

If you know me,  my cooking is abysmal-and the amount of times I’ve burnt something testifies to that. But I can make a decent cake. Despite this being really unhealthy to eat all the time, I wish to learn how to cooks some decent meals-a lasagne one day, a curry the next, a Sunday roast, and a stew are all on my list. Because, yes, I cannot live on takeaways and the goodness of other, can I? Gotta stand on my own two feet at some point-

Pass all exams..

Pretty self explanatory, this one.

Read First Woman…

Kate Anderson Brower was a member of the White House Press Corps, and had written the bestseller, The Residence, about the workers at the famous executive mansion, on part of the president. Now, she has written the First Lady version-and, for somebody who particularly enjoys this facet of history, or seemed rather suitable.

Start to learn a language..

Because my linguistic abilities are shocking.

Attempt the 365 day challenge…

Blog every day for a year!

Wear more skirts..

Just a personal preference, this one, to look just a little bit more professional. 

What are your goals for 2017?

Lydia

XO

10 thoughts on “Goals fo 2017.. because I don’t do New Years Resolutions.

  1. Good luck with all these! I love the variation and that you’ve kept them realistic, yet allowed for progression. What kind of journalism are you thinking of going into? The novel sounds interesting, you’re so talented. I’m right there with you on the inability to cook surviving off a mixture of pot oodles, take always and grovelling to friends! In 2017 I want to apply to the navy, get back in to fencing, read more and a few others.
    Katie xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some great goals here, Lydia! I love the assortment of them, they’re not all relating to one subject! Learning to cook more is one for me this year too. I’m tempted to wear more skirts… but I don’t think it’s really for me in the long run! Hopefully 2017 brings some success for your goals πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

