Why Feminism is important to me..

*Before you inevitably troll me, thanks to the ‘F’ word included in the title, please just read the whole way through.*

I could give you a million reasons as to why Feminsim is important to me. I could preach until your ears bleed as to why Feminism is important to me. I could try to change your mind about why Feminism is important to me, and why it should have some importance to you too. But I’m not going to try and do that. Because, just what is the point!? Instead, I’ll set my reasons out, and you can decide for yourself, and leave any comments you wish to make. (Any trolling comments will be deleted, please bear in mind.)

Being female can be difficult. Let’s just be blunt about this, whilst also noting the word can. There’s such things as the gender pay gap, lack of representation in Parliament, etc. There’s social and economic factors that bug me.

But I wish to be clear about one thing: I do not think that women are superior in any way. What I think is that we have different assets and strengths, methods and abilities, that compliment each other. We don’t need to be against each other; we could work together, right? Although that does seem a little bit idealistic.

Feminism is the factor of equality to me; it is something that allows me to assert myself, to explore political issues, expand intellectually. I’ll also be able to vote this year-a privilege afforded to me because of the Suffragettes. Without it, I really do not think that I would have been able to blog to the extent I have, and a whole host of other things.

So, there you have it…

Lydia

XO

Leave a Reply

