Explaining sensory issues..

As a follow on from my Aspergers Sydrome related series’s of posts, I thought it may be best to follow this up with a post about sensory issues. Now, Disclaimer: I have never claimed to be a Doctor, or someone with any qualification in medicine. So, whatever you undertake after reading this post is at your own risk. 

Sensory issues are relative to the indurvidual, just as the symptoms characterising Aspergers are. One issue that keeps coming up is Sensory issues; I’m sorry I don’t know the technical name for this-maybe sensory impairment?

This I find hard to describe, because the definition can be a little bit loose, and because it differs: different senses can at times be unpleasant, sometimes causing meltdowns, anxiety, etc. And it’s dependent on the person-I can’t really give you a better definition than that. Although meltdowns are not characteristic of my condition, at some sensory things I can feel/become/Act anxious, and it puts my routine and self out of sync for the rest of the day. These are just a few sensory issues that I dislike:

  • Bath rugs with harsh bumps all over, that won’t deflate underfoot once trodden on. (This one is milder than the rest, however it’s not something I particularly enjoy, and will try to nearly always avoid. It also makes me feel funny.)
  • Loud noises, such as cutlery crashing about. 
  • Membrane foods-peas and sweet corn for instance.
  • Whistles.
  • The squeaking of wet shoe soles on the leather of a car footwell. 
  • Prickly jumpers, due to the type of wool used to make them.
  • Polystyrene. And cracking it when it comes as packinging in a parcel via the post.
  • Reverb from speakers if at too high a pitch.
  • The constant current switch of lights, when they don’t have enough power going back and forth.
  • Watches.

(Just reading this back, it sounds very petty-and I hope that isn’t the case!) 

Post to you soon,

Lydia

XO

Leave a Reply

