Why I dislike having my photo taken..


Photos. Photos. Photos. Uggghhhh.

I really dislike having my photo taken. And as a warning, this post was written as a ‘rant’-although I’m trying to be logical and balanced. That’s a possible fail.

Anyway, back to the topic; I dislike having my photo taken. I really detest it-the awkwardness, coupled with the fact that it’ll possibly be put on display-be it a byline photo, your parents mantelpiece, newspaper, etc. (The latter one was a particular ‘favourite’; me smiling with a rather large tongue stuck out. How embarrassing.)

In my lifetime, there’s been a general increase in technological culture;you’re reading this blog right now, for instance. We Instagram, tweet, Facebook, email, read e-books. Essentially, we move electronically, in amongst this huge field of data. But what happens with such a thing as trolling?

In spite of the fact that I’m a blogger, my life is still private to me; I have every right to maintain my privacy. I may write about my social impairment, yet you don’t know intimate details of that. You don’t know my friendships, my likes or dislikes, what I eat for dinner, etc. 

Plus, I’m just awkward. And there’s so much time between posing and snapping!

Caitlin Moran wrote the brilliant piece about why she doesn’t just smile, but brings out her ‘Muppet face’ for photos-simply because it proves the point she isn’t static, but rather alive and kicking. But I think I’ve used that trick for too long-I’m told to smile more often, stand up straight, etc. The mullet face isn’t going to work any more.

As long as I’m laughing, I’m happy, just not comfortable in photos.

What do you think about having your photo taken?

Lydia

XO

Leave a Reply

