Blogging Myths Debunked.

When I’ve been chatting to a few Friends, there has been a few misconceptions-and they largely revolve around my blog. So, for this post, I thought I would debunk a few blogging myths.

  • I get paid for blogging.

Nope, not at all. I do not get paid for any of the posts I wrote-and I largely consider brand samples to be a sufficient payment at the moment. Whilst I would love to monetise my blog-as in, get paid-I haven’t yet been able to. I’m not enough of an influencer to be considered for this. And besides, though a possible source of income, it wouldn’t necessarily account for a real wage. 

  • I meet a lot of famous people.

The interviews you sometimes read are with semi-famous people; because, after all, fame is something incredibly subjective. However, I have only carried out one interview face to face-and that wasn’t even for is website! So, I don’t really meet a lot of famous people. I do however get to go to concerts, etc, thus seeing them live and in action. (I meet the occasional person-yet this is not really notable.)

  • I don’t spend a lot of time writing.

This is the one that frustrates me the most; I put a lot of time and effort into my posts, and I also post every day. A lot of time is spent creating content-so, photography, words, guest posts, etc.

  • That I am obsessed with social media.

Social media, whilst useful for any blogger, in order to promote their posts, I actually find quite cumbersome in reality. For me, it is quite hard to operate-and I’m not always aware of invisible social codes. Twitter is one of the easiest, yet I get bored of trolls very easily; and why be bitchy, any way? Technology could be used for something higher-ratherthan being   trivialised, and used to be nasty.

What blogging myths have you recently come across?

Lydia

XO

Leave a Reply

