The Bibliophile Tag! 


Hello!

It has been a while since I posted a “tag” post-a marvellous tool, in terms of interactions between bloggers. Anyway, there hasn’t been one that has caught my eye for a while now-therefore, I thought I would create my own. Hence this new post, The Bibliophile Tag! 

The rules:

  • Answer the following questions.
  • Link back to this post.
  • Tag up to ten other bloggers.
  • Use the term ‘books’ at least once.
  • Tweet it, Facebook it, etc.

As an aside: books can be proof copies, or on any electronic device, for the sake of this post. 

And the questions are as follows-complete with my answers.

1. What was the last book you read? 

The last book I read was The Great Gatsby, in conjunction with my English A Level. In the last two years, this has probably been the fifth time I’ve read it. (It all counts for revision, right?!) Although I still remain sceptical of the plotline, I love the evocative imagery of the Jazz age, and how Fitzgerald captures the hedonism underneath.

2. Why do you post about books?

Books are integral to the way we think, how we define ourselves, how we influence world events-and yet are often very overlooked. They are fonts of knowledge-if thats the right phrase-and I wish to promote, even share that, with you lot, my lovely readers!

3. What is your favourite book?

See, this is always a hard question to answer-it changes over time, often dependent on mood, context, and author. For that reason, I’ve picked five: The Diary Of Anne Frank, Reasons To Stay Alive by Matt Haig, Dreaming in French by Alice Kaplan, First Woman by Kate Anderson Bower (sp?), and My Turn by Norman Wisdom. And maybe The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult. (But that’s six!)

4. Imagine you are about to have a dinner party. But you need guests-they can be fictional characters, authors, etc. Who would you invite?

Firstly, the broadcaster and Journalist Lesley Ann Jones-I’ve met her, and have reviewed all her books on this blog, and she can also tell a good story. Secondly, Minnie from The Help, simply because she’d be a riot to be around-and I’d like to know what she’d have thought about today’s civil rights’ issues. Thirdly,  Norman Wisdom, because in spite of the harrowing experiences detailed in his biography, he still remained cheerful. Fourthly, Luna from the book on the right-how does it feel to travel in time?! And lastly, Rudy from The Book Thief.

5. If everyone had to read one book in their lifetime, what do you think it should be, and why?

House Rules by Jodi Picoult. Here is a writer who is exploring in fiction a very modern issue-and it is so well written.

I tag the following bloggers to answer this tag:

  • Kimberly Jessica
  • Countrykatie
  • Sophia Leigh 
  • Mary Lane
  • Lisa Kallas
  • Lauren TSIG
  • Jess 

Post to you soon,

Lydia

XO 

Leave a Reply

