Inside My Bullet Journal. (Guest post by Envy Fisher.)

Today’s guest post is by Envy Fisher, over at Lost In translation. Be sure to visit her blog by clicking here!

I think every blogger will agree with me that we live in the age of Bullet Journals. I know very few bloggers who don’t have a notebook full of fancy spreads to keep their lives organized. If you were to see mine though… I’m not cut out for the Bullet Journal life. I scribble my to-do lists first thing in the morning on the first piece of paper I can find. Illustrating and color-coding is nice and all, but wouldn’t it make more sense to use that time to actually start doing the things on your list? Apart from that, no matter how pretty I’d make my Bullet Journal, I don’t see myself looking back on it in five years time and thinking: ‘Man, my life was awesome back then, look at all these things I had to do!’ No, I’d rather remember the stories of my life by writing them down. So instead of a Bullet Journal, I keep an old-fashioned journal. Though I don’t think ‘old-fashioned’ is the right word. My journal is a little bit different than the old school journals and diaries. Let me show you.

DSC01507

I started this journal in February 2017, fairly recently. It was the first time I had a completely blank journal, no lines or anything. At first that scared me to no end. I have a reputation for not being able to write a sentence in a straight line on a completely blank piece of paper. After a day or two I realized blank pages are the best though: you’re not limited to just writing, you have more than enough space to add illustrations.

DSC01785

The first illustrations appeared while I was planning my blog’s relaunch. I needed a rough sketch for a header and was writing about how nervous I was for the relaunch. Then I picked up a pencil and started doodling. It felt weird at first. Diaries aren’t sketch pads. I immediately regretted that thought. Why follow the rules of journaling if you can pick and choose, then make your journal exactly what you want it to be?

DSC01511

From that moment on I illustrated the stories of my life that I wrote down in my journal. The illustrations became bigger and bigger, until I made pages in an art journal style. I made these to motivate myself, to get over my ex-boyfriend and as a tribute to Antwerp, the Belgian city I fell in love with in February.

fullsizeoutput_63     fullsizeoutput_64

There’s nothing I won’t try in my journal. I’ve used pen, pencil, acrylic paint, chalk, and spray paint. It’s fun to try so many different media in the middle of writing the story of your life. But that doesn’t mean every page is a success. For example, when I first used my can of red spray paint, the paint went straight through the pages and stained more than I’d expected… It looked a little bit like a massacre to be honest. Luckily I was able to cover it all up with a picture.

The thing I like best about the combination between diary, travel journal and art journal is that there’s no pressure to do anything. I don’t have to make a fancy spread, I don’t have to write about my day if I don’t want to and if I feel uninspired I don’t have to make any illustrations or collages. But when I do feel like doing any of those things, my journal is there for me with as many blank pages as I need. So how about it? Can I convince you to give this kind of journal a try instead of the Bullet Journal? I promise you won’t regret it!

x Envy

***

I am pleased to announce that I am working with Basic Beauty Tools. If you go to their website via this link , and order the Spongedry, you can get an extra free foundation blender by adding under ‘Note To Seller’ your colour code: LYDIAPINK for pink, LYDIAPURPLE for purple, and LYDIABLACK for black.

12 thoughts on “Inside My Bullet Journal. (Guest post by Envy Fisher.)

  1. I’m with you, Envy — I write lists on whatever I have at hand, and keep an old-school journal as well. I don’t update it as much as I used to, and mine isn’t nearly as lovely as yours, but I do enjoy putting pen to paper!

  2. Great post! Gave me a bit of motivation to continue my own journal. I’ve been wanting to get into journalling for ages especially bullet journalling.
    Great pictures!

  3. Pingback: Web Finds – 17 May 2017 « Travellers Notebook Times

Leave a Reply

