My iTunes Playlist.

Since my eighteenth birthday, I have been using my new iPHONE, in order to listen to songs on the go. And to be honest it has made quite a difference; better sound quality, inclusive of album artwork, and I could browse the store for hours. Anyway, apart from digressing just a teeny bit, I wanted to show you my playlist I listen to on the way to college. It’s called ‘Feel good Songs’-because I need motivation in the morning’s, and above all, these songs make me feel happy.

Flash, Queen Rock Montreal.

For some reason, this live version of ‘Flash’ is not included on the DVD, hence why I hadn’t been aware of its existence until very recently. I love it! Although Queen perform it as a very stripped-back number, meaning it lacks some of the verses, and I think that the melody has been changed just slightly, it’s a ‘feel good’ song to me. Gotta channel some of Flash’s power, after all.

Sultans of Swing, Private Investigations.

This is an old one, this one. Dire Straits are singing about a band that they saw, way back when. But I love the fusion of sound across this song-a sort of juxtaposition of sound, a little bit of rock, etc.

Another one Bites The Dust, Queen Rock Montreal.

Because who wouldn’t want to listen to a song with a powerful, seemingly thumping, bass line, that was played at boxing matches, a long time ago? The chords make me feel powerful in this respect-in knowing that I can ostensibly stand tall, and take pride in myself. Plus, it’s Mercury ad-libbing like crazy throughout.

All Cried Out, Alf.

Alison Moyet, and a song telling a man to shove it? I’m on board, the same way I am for her love songs. (Love Letters, anyone?)

Let Me Entertain You, Queen Rock Montreal.

By this point, you’d have probably guessed that my iTUNES is a little bit limited, owing to the large influence that Queen currently have on it. (Not that it’s a bad thing!) But-although not the Robbie Williams song-this is a fast-paced, drum-fuelled song. Smashing! (Quite literally. And it gets my adrenaline going.) Because who doesn’t love a little bit of Mercury?

When I’m Alone, Live At Union Chapel.

Because who doesn’t love a good ballad?

Killer Queen/I’m In Love With My Car, Queen Rock Montreal.

Okay, so technically, this is a medley, hence why I had to put the two songs together. I LOVE how Killer Queen leads into the (incredibly raspy) version of I’m In Love With My Car. The latter track is very raw-and there’s just so much energy.

Naughty, Heavy Rotation.

This is not on the CD, and is on the digital version. I identify with the subject of the lyrics, especially the bridge: “..don’t care what the people may say, I’m going to do it my way..” (Well, something along those lines, anyway. ) I think that we should all embrace our weirdness-because that makes us us-and this is the perfect soundtrack.

Tired Of Being Blonde, Spoiled Girl.

Although this was from one of Carly Simon’s albums that was considered to be, well, a bit of a flop-and not reaching the heights of No Secrets-it’s the drum loop that I really like. And although she did not write this song, I really love the story of the lyrics-a woman leaving her husband, because he underestimates her worth, and persists in making her nothing but a sex object.

Keep Yourself Alive, Queen Rock Montreal.

And there’s an improvised jam at the beginning!

What Can We Do (Deeper Love.)

Although this is an advertising song, I really like the choruses: “I (got deeper love) x3 *ad lib*

Resurrection, A 4 App.

This is Anastacia’s first live album, and I was delighted to see that one of my favourite songs was the opener-Ressurection. I think it would be fair to say that this is about her second cancer, and surviving it. But the last part is so deep, and it just makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. If she can come back like this again, I can do anything, right?

Jailhouse Rock, Queen Rock Montreal.

This is a cover by Queen; and although the guitar can be a little bit heavy at times-it’s probably in the design of the cover-I love how Freddie Mercury sort of growls on this track. He also becomes very frustrated at the reserved Canadian audience, which makes me smile at his impertinence.

Shamless, Live At Union Chapel.

I’m with Lissie on this one; I’m tired of the magazine industry, in the sense that it is just about a women’s appearance, and doesn’t seem to always take her self worth into account. This was a rock song on the studio album, but has been formed into an acoustic version on this live album. I love it!

We Will Rock You (Fast), Queen Rock Montreal.

Not everyone’s cup of tea, but this is the concert opener, and has great energy!

Underground Army, A 4 App.

This is an Anastacia song that I’m not familar with, really, but the lyrics are so encouraging, and they seem to suggest a sort of kindness. I love it.

Don’t You Give Up On Me, Live At Union Chapel. 

I sometimes feel as if people have given up on me-usually on one of those dark days, where nothing is going right. (We all have days like that, don’t we?) But this is a song that encourages me, and it makes me happy. The perfect way to finish a playlist!

What do you listen to on your playlists?

Lydia

XO

***

I am pleased to announce that I am working with Basic Beauty Tools. If you go to their website via this link , and order the Spongedry, you can get an extra free foundation blender by adding under ‘Note To Seller’ your colour code: LYDIAPINK for pink, LYDIAPURPLE for purple, and LYDIABLACK for black.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “My iTunes Playlist.

Leave a Reply

