Why I’m Starting To Dislike Social Media…

Please be warned that this post is a bit of a rant, and I may sound unreasonable at times.

Social media. Oh, social media. I have defended you, loved you, and become a fan in equal measure. But I am REALLY SICK of how you’re being used. More specifically; to spread drama, create rumours, and adding ‘fake news’ to the mix. All you seem to do is spread ill will.

I use Twitter and Instagram, to keep in touch with people I know, as well as to promote my blog, this little space on the internet. And it has bought me a wealth of experiences, all of which I am truly grateful for. It contributes to my readership, brands working with me, blog comments, garnering guest posters, getting a favourite writer to follow me, and it keeps me informed of new releases-be it books, albums, monopoly, etc. All is well.

But it’s just so divisive. And I’m starting to dislike social media.

Since when was it ever okay to film someone on Snapchat, without their consent? Post in the same vein on Facebook? Tweet our MP’s death threats? Spread homophobic abuse? Judge other people’s choices? Troll brands? Troll people? Create ‘fake news’? And-for want of another word-slag  off other bloggers? When was any of this every okay, or deemed acceptable to post?

I’m tired of this. So, so tired.

To use social media to harass, bully, demean is disgusting behaviour. And I’m fed up with seeing Blogger pit themselves against each other. I’m sick of seeing an electorate sprout untruths and wish ill will on their representatives. I feel sick to my stomach at all of this. We have to be better than this.

And this fake news. FAKE NEWS! Where, just WHERE is the gain in spreading complete lies? And Facebook has even rolled out a guide as how to spot it.

Technology could be used to better ourselves-start a blog, keep in contact with people you know and love, keep up to date with current affairs. But express whatever opinion you have so that it’s measured. No one should be made to feel afraid. No one should be made to feel isolated.

 

Untitled design

***

I am pleased to announce that I am working with Basic Beauty Tools. If you go to their website via this link , and order the Spongedry, you can get an extra free foundation blender by adding under ‘Note To Seller’ your colour code: LYDIAPINK for pink, LYDIAPURPLE for purple, and LYDIABLACK for black.

7 thoughts on “Why I’m Starting To Dislike Social Media…

Leave a Reply

